Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, it has often been discussed whether the increase in the adoption of technology to monitor what people do and say during their daily lives brings more benefits than challenges. I firmly believe that even though there are some advantages, the consequences, especially the moral ones, cannot be underestimated. On the one hand, the development of new technologies provided a variety of supports in our community; therefore, we can connect to each other easily, learning about multiple topics online and also working from everywhere using a computer. It is widely known that different companies and institutions often use technology to obtain something else, such as personal details and information; they also use it to understand what are the real intentions of a person. For example, almost every store has a security camera: which is mainly used for preventing robbers and thieves from damaging their activities and clients. On the other hand is not always simple to understand why some methods are used. Even though some techniques are justified for everybody’s sake, it should not be necessary to monitor certain aspects of people’s lives. For example, in China government uses technological supplements in order to identify citizens and discover information related to them, by scanning their faces before they reach their workplaces or listening to their private conversations on the phone. In conclusion, technology evolution is becoming more widespread, and unfortunately, in some cases, it crosses the line. Although there are some reasonable points to adopt it in order to monitor people, it is undeniable that it raises various ethical concerns that need to be considered and discussed.