In many countries, people are working longer hours than before. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause for individuals and families? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the ultra-modern era, working more than regular hours has become a necessity for individuals. There is a wide array of reasons that create this problem. Working excessively can also be harmful to individuals. The upcoming paragraphs will shed light on the reasons and the problems associated with this phenomenon. To commence with, there are a plethora of reasons why people are working extra hours nowadays. The first and foremost reason is the increased inflation in every country. As prices of almost everything, such as groceries, petrol, clothing and other basic things, are increasing therefore, extra money is needed to cope with this inflation. Hence, people have to work extra hours to cover all the expenses. Secondly, as the standard of living is increasing day by day. So, to maintain high living standards in society, it has become important for families to earn more. As a result, they have to work overtime. Despite these reasons, working longer hours also creates several problems. The most significant issue is that people are not able to give enough time to their kids and family. As working individuals are spending more time at work rather than at home, due to this the bonding and love between them is decreasing. Thus, the family ties are getting weaker. Moreover, most of the people follow a sedentary lifestyle, and it is affecting their bodies and health. For example, people working in offices are always sitting and working on a computer. Owing to this, they usually suffer from back pain, poor eyesight, obesity and other health issues. Consequently, it decreases their chances of living a longer and healthier life. To conclude, individuals have no other option than working extra hours due to increased expenses and high living standards. However, the side effects of working overtime cannot be neglected.