Nowadays people eat more fast food than in the past. This has led to many health problems. Why do people eat more fast food? What can be done to solve this problem?

Due to the fast-paced lifestyle, people in big cities usually do not have time to prepare food, so they eat their meals in fast- food restaurants. This fact has a direct association with the rise in obesity, heart disease, and mental health problems. Firstly, the rhythm of life has changed dramatically even in comparison with life 20 years ago. Modern people who live in megacities are always in a hurry. Work duties, relationships, and personal growth have a huge influence on their daily schedules. In order to fulfill all their commitments, people usually sacrifice both their physical and mental well-being. The two biggest factors that affect physical health are nutrition and sleep. There is no time left for choosing products in supermarkets and cooking at home. It is much more convenient and, more importantly, time -efficient to buy processed and ultra-processed food or grab a meal at the nearest fast- food restaurant. Despite saving time, these two options have very harmful consequences. Such food has an imbalanced nutritional composition, usually lacks protein, and contains an excess of carbohydrates and fats. In combination with a sedentary lifestyle, this creates a perfect basis for being overweight and for disruptions in the cardiovascular system. To address this problem, authorities have to restore the work-life balance of citizens. Firstly, they should put stricter limitations on the duration of the working day in order to prevent constant overworking and create more free time for daily chores and personal activities. Secondly, they should create a reliable public transportation system to reduce the time people spend in traffic jams or while commuting. Furthermore, a nutrient-dense diet and regular physical activity should be promoted and encouraged among the population. In conclusion, nowadays people basically do not have enough time to cook, so they replace home-cooked meals with quick and cheap fast food. To solve this problem, the government has to implement laws that restrict working hours and promote a healthy lifestyle.