In past, people wear clothes that shows their culture. Nowadays people like to wear common clothes worldwide. Is this a positive or negative development?

Wearing cultural clothes back in the day was quite common. However, currently everyone prefer to dress similar across the world. I believe this situation has both positive and negative results. Each country is consists of their own unique culture and it is imperative that it is preserved and followed by each generation. Therefore, when people neglect their own historical outfits, throughout the time each upcoming generation will not remember nor they will be interested in protecting them. This can also result in deviating from the original look of the outfit due to lack of knowledge. For example, most Sri Lankan younger generation is not interested in wearing their traditional wear for local weddings. Due to this reason, tailors are making significant design changes to comply with modern demands. Although this development has this drawback, it is also a important that what people wear on daily basis should be comfortable and practical. Most cultural wears are not great at being flexible. Therefore, it is understandable that most prefer to wear a common attire which provides comfort. A construction worker wearing a traditional Sri Lankan Sarong to work will result in being a workplace hazard due to it's restricted movements. In conclusion, a modern society that abandon their cultural outfits can be a negative cause in losing their own identity for the current and future generations. But at the same time, a positive outcome of this scenario is commonly worn clothes helps people to feel at ease and helps on their day to day tasks.