Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In recent years, there has been an increasing debate that technology has brought people closer. Other critics claim that the said asset is responsible for breaking people apart. From my perspective, modern technology is an incredible tool that makes sharing people's life experiences simple. To begin, several individuals state that the technological change the modern societies are experiencing, has had a positive impact on their lifestyle. Students who moved abroad to seek better tertiary-education are extremely thankful for the technology, since they are able to stay in touch with their family, friends and relatives. Similarly, adults, who are living in a foreign country to search for greater professional opportunities, have the same attitude towards technological tools. A notable example is the considerable number of foreign people who video-call their family members in the motherland. On the other hand, some people strongly believe that this innovation has had the opposite effect. A large proportion of technology users are young individuals, who prefer spending time chatting with people they are unlikely to meet in real life, on platforms such as WhatsApp and Instagram. Consequently, people closer to such technology users are driven far. Additionally, having a face-to-face conversation has significantly reduced, over the past decade, while screen time has substantially increased. By contrast, as an immigrant's daughter, I am convinced that the benefits of this resource outweigh the drawbacks. In fact, this unprecedented invention has made it possible to share people's wins and sorrows, despite them living overseas or hundreds of kilometres away. Taking everything into account, the discussed tool has the ability to make people come together and participate in their success, despite the physical distance. However, it can also be responsible for leading close people far.