Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and schools should make all teenagers spend a short time working as well as studying academic subjects. To what extend do you agree?

In modern society, the question of practical exposure among young individuals alongside theoretical preparation is widely debated. At some extent, I consider the involvement of teenagers in short-term professional activities having a positive impact, providing valuable knowledge and developing useful skills that should help them shape their future career choices. To begin with, exposure to real employment environments allow adolescents to acquire new skills outside the classroom, as well as guide them through practical examples into a better understanding of their professional future objectives. Additionally, the youth representants can learn the importance of cooperation and the responsibilities associated to a full-time adult job. Consequently, this opportunity may prevent unsuitable later choices. However, it is important that the main focus should still be directed on building a strong academic foundation for the younger generation. It is essential that the practical sessions do not affect the productivity of students in schools. Additionally, the work needs to be carefully organized so that it does not overlap with the lessons and do not put additional pressure on the students. Moreover, it is encouraged that young and motivated individuals involve in volunteer activities which might allow them to have a more flexible schedule and, at the same time, having a positive output in terms of acquired skills and knowledge. Volunteering activities represent also a great environment to communicate, learn working in teams and exchange experience, having a considerable importance if mentioned in the CV. In conclusion, requiring teenagers to gain limited experience in the workplace can be beneficial, enabling adolescents to better understand their potential and make informed career decisions only in case the practical side does not negatively impact the learning process which still remains a priority for the younger generation.