Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative trend?

These days, many children waste their time on gadgets. Before, these kinds of smartphones were used only to communicate with children, but today, around 80% of children use a modern phone. I am in full disagreement that smartphones have bright light, and it has an impact on their eyes. Furthermore, it promotes numerous diseases. One of the main negatives is health issues. Some children cannot imagine their lives without gadgets. However, they spend a lot of time, such as 4 hours or 7 hours, on them. In addition, if children look at the phone for more than 4 hours, it may affect their eyes. It has an impact on mental well-being and social health. For example, they waste their time playing video games instead of studying and learning something new. Furthermore, children's brains work well, and they can learn simply, but they spend their time playing unnecessary video games. As a result, gadgets are crucial, but some parents should provide limited smartphone use every day. Another significant disadvantage is social isolation; children spend too little time with their families and friends. It can produce loneliness; for instance, a man who spends his time on smartphones may have weak communication skills in real life. Many children, instead of playing outside, isolate themselves, which harms their social development. In the future, they will face challenges finding work because they have weak communication skills. Many types of companies require communication skills. Consequently, they might be unemployed if they do not have communication skills. To sum up, although spending their time on smartphones is not beneficial to children's development, from my perspective, if they use it positively, like for learning and studying, they might do everything well in their lives.