In some countries young people are encouraged to travel or work for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

As a young lady who went to tertiary directly after completing high school, I can boldly say that starting a university program without any work or travel experience comes with its pros and cons. Firstly, high school students are often eager and desperate to commence their tertiary education after graduating from high school. Tertiary education is considerably important but mostly students from high school are not matured enough to choose a program that are in alignment with them. A number of high school graduates do not know the kind of career they should venture into. Therefore at this stage, the most effective decision is to volunteer for jobs across careers. A year of working in various fields and industries will help you rightly decide on what program to apply for. For example, getting a random job like cleaning or even a care job at a hospital will help you understand the duties of a nurse as a prospective nurse. In a case like this, you can easily change your mind if you realize you are not comfortable with body fluids. Also people with low grades during this period can take causes to make up for their credits. Secondly, there are also negatives if you decide to work for a while before furthering your education. As each day pass, we age. Therefore spending a year or two means you are going to complete your degree years at a later age. Imagine you graduated high school at age nineteen and spent two years working before entering the university. Your colleagues are going to be ahead of you and this can be emotionally draining. Also, the brain is faster when you are younger. As we age we lose neurons hence it might be cognitively difficult for you especially in classes that require certain terminologies and understanding. In a nutshell, both options have the good and the bad. Therefore, whatever option you choose solely depends on your current situation. After high school, you should consider your financial situation, grades attained and the program or career you want to venture into.