In recent years, many people have adopted a minimalist lifestyle, choosing to own only essential possessions. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this way of living?

Minimalism is a popular and easily adopted lifestyle. It encourages us to throw out unuseful belongings and avoid buying stuff without real purpose. Its design is plain spaces, simple furniture. One of its main advantages is that people who adopt minimalism in their lives are financially better off. When minimalism encourages us that the less products you own the better, we save money by not buying such unnecessary things. That way people can either spend money in other places where they see fit or save money for the future. Another big advantage is that for a lot of people heavily overdecorated rooms can be seen as stressful and crowded, like there isn’t any room to breathe and with minimalism there is none of that. People have space and the calm, plain colours reduce stress. To sum up, minimalism helps out with financial problems and with your mental state. But minimalism has its disadvantages. Minimalism in the long term can feel very empty and even like something is missing. For example you come home from your friend's very decorated house that looks stunning and you see your house that doesn’t even look like someone lives in it because of how minimalistic it is. It can be sad that in your house it isn’t seen what kind of person lives in it since in homes that have a lot of belongings and things, it’s usually a person putting in their personality in a house. In conclusion, minimalism is an easy and affectionate way of living in some aspects of life, but it can feel very empty. Additionally, if we don’t oversimplify and still have some belongings laying around minimalism is the way to go.