In recent years, many people have adopted a minimalist lifestyle, choosing to own only essential possessions. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this way of living? (write at least 220 words)

In recent years, many people have chosen to adopt a minimalist lifestyle. They choose to keep only essential possessions and get rid of everything else. In this essay I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this way of living. Firstly, a minimalist lifestyle is great for people who can’t spare time to clean their living space. For example, a minimalistic apartment is much easier to clean than a cluttered one, resulting in more time for rest, social life and more important things. It is a comfortable way of living for people who work very time-consuming and stressful jobs like nurses, doctors, policemen, lawyers and so on. Consequently, coming home to a clean and tidy space provides comfort and relaxation after a hard day. Secondly, this way of living is very suitable for big families. It can be difficult to maintain a clean space when living with children, but it is necessary. Children should be provided with a clean and safe environment so they can learn, grow and mature. This eventually results in good grades and education, increasing productivity and creativity. However, this lifestyle can take away self-expression. I think this choice of living is very subtle and bland. Of course, some people prefer a minimalistic environment, and that is also good, but some people, artists, for example, prefer a space that is theirs to experiment with and to express themselves. To add, some people might find minimalistic lifestyle cold and unwelcoming. They see their home as a way to show others who they are. Also, to be surrounded by their belongings helps them feel safe and comfortable. As a result, they feel uncomfortable and unwelcome in such minimalistic spaces. In conclusion, a minimalistic way of living is a great choice for big families or people who work stressful jobs, because it makes it easier to clean and maintain. On the other hand, people who like to collect different things and to express themselves through their surroundings might find it very boring and uncomfortable.