Some people say that schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the Internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people assert that schools are not necessary since children can get a lot of information online and they can also study at home. Is there any merit to this belief? I disagree with this view because although online learning is more accessible and convenient, schools can still provide more direct support from teachers and help students develop social skills. First of all, online learning can offer better access to learning materials and personalised content. With a computer and an internet connection, children can join online classes and watch a wide range of useful online videos almost anywhere and at any time. Moreover, children can effectively learn academic subjects through personalized content at their own pace. For example, if children are weak at basic numeracy, they can review the calculation at home and keep up with classmates by taking online math courses. Therefore, online learning can help children develop their academic performance with more accessibility. On the other hand, schools can enhance children's communication skills and provide flexible support from teachers. Through project-style practice and group work, children can learn how to cooperate and collaborate with peers, which can be essential in later life. Furthermore, teachers can provide more practical and flexible feedback depending on each student's situation. By way of example, when children struggle to gain higher scores in English, English teachers can offer one-on-one English classes after school, which can improve their English grades. Consequently, schools are effective in developing children's soft skills and offering teachers ' dedicated support. In conclusion, although online learning can enable children to access a wide variety of learning content more readily, schools can still play a significant role in fostering children's social development and offering teachers ’ close guidance. Schools are likely to remain in the future.