Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether it is better to live in a horizontal city or a vertical one. In my opinion, I believe that vertical cites are a better choice due to its benefits. On the one hand, there are certain reasons why some people prefer living in horizontal cities. Firstly, horizontal cities usually offer larger living environments. People here are more likely to live in bigger houses with private gardens and greater access to natural sunlight. This type of environment can have positive impacts on both physical and mental health, especially for young children and the elderly. In addition, in emergency cases such as earthquakes or fire, low-rise buildings in horizontal cities allow people to escape more quickly since they do not have to rely heavily on elevators or long stairways. However, I believe that the advantages of vertical cities are much more significant. Indeed, vertical cities are more convenient because they provide residents with easier access to a wide range of amenities such as housing, schools, and malls within one area. Hence, people will not need to travel long distances to meet daily needs, which may help them save both time and transportation costs. In addition, shorter commuting distances also reduce the need to use vehicles in the streets, thereby helping to ease traffic congestion and air pollution. Furthermore, vertical urban development uses less space for housing construction compared to horizontal cities. This would increase housing supply and make houses more affordable for the residents. In conclusion, although both horizontal and vertical cities have their own benefits, I believe that staying in the vertical cities is far better.