Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There is a belief that every unlawful act ought to be punished with a specific penalty. On the other hand, others claim that the circumstances of the crime and the criminal's motive should be considered when deciding the appropriate punishment. This essay will discuss both views and give the writer's opinion. To begin with, assigning punishments without a thorough assessment can cut down red tape in the prison system. By skipping the assessment of the specific crime and the wrongdoer's intention, the process will take less time because it will not include investigations, justifications, and closing arguments during the trial process. Moreover, the allocation of convicted individuals would be less complicated, as judges would not have to sort them into groups based on age and the severity of the crime. Consequently, prison wardens would guard fewer prison cells, and there would be less manpower needed to operate the prison. For instance, wardens would guard fewer cells because prisoners would be divided into fewer categories. On the other hand, the contrasting view can promote equity and fairness for convicts. By contemplating the circumstances of the felony, the courts can reach an accurate conclusion and assign suitable sentences. This can mitigate the impact of misjudgement. For example, by resorting to an assessment of the circumstances of the wrongdoing, guilty individuals who are young can receive more favourable penalties than those who are adults. In conclusion, both choices have their merits and demerits. However, taking account of the crime's severity and other factors, such as the convict's intention, outweighs assigning everyone the same specific penalty, as it enables fairness in the prison system.