Gorvernments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People remain divided over the extent to which railways contribute to a more beneficial infrastructure. While some argue that governments should invest in railways instead of roads, others contend the opposite idea. I totally agree with the former perspective, and this essay will prove this idea with the help of examples and provide a logical conclusion. Some compelling arguments show that railways can be utilised for many purposes such as public transportation, logistics, and military operations, and they can undoubtedly be more effective than roadways. For example, using metro lines can not only reduce air pollution but also reduce traffic congestion. Moreover, railways are essential for transporting military personnel and vehicles such as tanks. In addition, vehicles that move on rails inevitably possess more capacity than road vehicles. On the other hand, some people believe that railways are outdated since if one part of a railway is damaged, all traffic on that line stops. Regarding previous events, repairing railways takes more time compared to roads, and it is more expensive than road maintenance. Although trains and metros play a crucial role, they cannot be used by every individual to access all places. Besides this, roads are a major source of revenue for governments, as they collect taxes from every vehicle. In conclusion, railways have more advantages than roads when they are compared in terms of cost, capacity, speed, and military use. Therefore, I believe that governments should allocate more resources to railways.