In recent years, many people have adopted a minimalistic lifestyle, choosing to own only essential possessions. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this way of living?

First, I would like to talk about what minimalism actually is. Minimalism is a lifestyle some people choose. Minimalists keep the bare minimum of their belongings in their homes, throwing away anything they deem unnecessary. This kind of life can either help or worsen a persons life. Now a question comes to mind, what are the advantages and drawbacks of minimalism? Minimalism usually has a positive effect on both the resident and the planet. People who don’t keep a lot of possessions don't buy many either. This can help beat consumerism and wastefulness, two worldwide problems today. Consumerism encourages impressionable people, who don't know any better, to purchase stuff currently trending on the internet. After the wave settles and a new one emerges, the individuals realise they have purchased items they don’t need anymore, thus are forced to throw them out. The useless products end up in landfills, which eventually become overfilled with tons of rubbish. The trash pollutes the air, water and soil. Lastly, keeping a small amount of belonging makes it very easy to move places. Of course, this lifestyle also has its disadvantages. Minimalism has become very popular due to social media. Minimalists work tirelessly to keep their homes bare and perfect for the cameras. Keeping one’s home like this causes a lot of stress, constantly worrying about what possessions to throw out or keep. These individuals throw out almost everything they purchase, sometimes even belongings that they actually need. Lastly, most minimalist homes look very boring and plain. In conclusion, minimalism has its pros and cons just like any other lifestyle. Minimalists learn how to keep the bare minimum to survive, helping the planet greatly. This way of living also makes a person look boring.