Some believe that a tax on companies should be introduced to reduce industrial pollution. Others believe that other measures should be taken to solve the problem. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, large scale business plays a significant role for producing harmful pollutants in the environment. Some individuals believe that the official authorities should impose higher tax on these companies to reduce it. However, other argue that other measures are more effective than levy a tax on companies. I agree with the latter view and I think implementing effective measure are more beneficial than levy a tax on big corporations. On the one hand, a tax on companies will encourage them to use the resources effectively and carefully. In most of the cases, it can be seen that companies try to save themselves from the tax and comply with the rules of the state. Mostly companies now moving from the obsolete technology to modern equipment which are not only energy efficient but also help to lessen the smoke, dust and harmful gases in the environment. Moreover, subsidies and training on using the new cleaner machines will automatically help them to take a serious look on this matter. And their co-operation with the government's plan will encourage others to maintain a healthy environment at the workplace. In my opinion, imposing a simple tax on industries is not worthwhile. Even though they paid higher taxes but the industrial pollution will remain the same. On the other hand, the authorities should implement other ways such as check their equipment, pollution limit weekly. It is true that companies try to become profitable by saving their expenses on buying new equipment. Consequently, their pollution level increased, and the smoke came out from it, affect the lives of workers. Therefore, the government officials should randomly visit in companies for checking the whole procedure of production. I believe these measures are practical and the support from the government officials helps them to buy new machinery and get the carbon tax deduction if they meets the criteria. To sum up, although tax on companies may encourage them to adopt cleaner practices, but it is not entirely an effective solution on its own. More practical measures such strict monitoring, regular inspections and provide assistance for modern equipment can reduce industrial pollution more effectively. Therefore, the combination of law enforcement and the governmental support is far more beneficial instead of solely rely on taxation policy.