Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all time. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Wearing uniforms is necessary in some workplaces, while others allow their employees to wear casuals. Former situation has some merits and demerits which will be discussed in the upcoming pagraphs along with illustrations followed by a logical conclusion. Mentioning the beneficial side of making a particular dress code mandatory every time. The first and foremost one is that it promotes equality. To explain this, people of different status, caste, culture and religion work together in any organization, which make it obvious that every individual wears clothes as per their wish that is governed by financial capability too. However, in case of having a definite dress code they all are perceived equally irrespectiv of their socio-economic backgroud. Thus, boosting the team spirit among them. Moreover, it serves as a way to promote the company. Explaining it further, when workers step at any public place, they are identified from their clothes. As a result, general public come to know about the existence of that company in their surrounding. For example, it is made clear from a questionnaire filled by Dominos' customers that they knew about the Dominos presence in their colony because they have seen its workers out in public. Therefore, it is a win-win situation for both the company as well as the team. On the other side it has some detrimental effects too. To be precise, it creates monotony and kills creativity since wearing the same dress code every single time and is worn by everybody around make the environment look monotonous as opposed to if they all choose it as per their comfort and in variety, the workplace looks far more appealing. Even when someone wears something, either new or unique, their morale automatically get boosted. To exemplify, psychologists in Harvard Unoversity proved in their recent studies that the masses feel 120% more confident and motivated to indulge in any job when wearing newly bought and of their own choice. Thus, it can be said that such conditions reduce not only productivity, but also the creative minds. To conclude, it can be said that despite the fact that some advantages can be availed by making uniform must at all times, its disadvantageous side can not be overlooked as it could negatively hit the team and the company in the long run. Given this situation, it is recommended that balance is unavoidable in uniform days and casuals allowance.