Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage. What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Currently, many of the world's cities have been experiencing a serious housing stortage situation, where the number of people are more than available accommodation. This essay is discussed about the possible two reasons for this situation, which are a high rate of immigration and real estate investment. The main reason of housing shortage can be caused by a large number of immigrants; people from other countries have been moving to specific areas, especially, in big cities. For example, in Australia, this has become a big and serious issue for Australians to find a reasonable rent for housing because not only a number of students have been increasing, but also skilled workers, as a result, the rental cost has been constantly rising. So, for 1 studio room can cost 400 - 600 dollars a week, or it can be a 2-room apartment separated into 3 to 4 rooms in order to fit more people. Moreover, the investment in real estate can affect this shortage because people, who would like to get passive income from renting their properties to others, own many houses or apartments. With a limited number of supplies owned by a group of investors, it is hard for households to find a place to live. Solutions to this worrying problem are the fascinating policies created by the government to encourage immigrants to live in regional areas; it can be related to a beneficial tax deduction. This can help to distribute the number of individuals to other areas. Also, the investors need to pay more taxes if they own more than 2 houses, or it can refer to the size of the accommodations. So, this can be a factor for the investors to consider before possessing the properties. The government can use those taxes to invest in building more houses. In conclusion, the reasons for housing shortage in cities are the increasing number of immigrants and property investment for income. This can be eased by policies that encourage people to live in regional areas, and tax increase.