In many countries, young people are choosing to take a gap year before starting university or work. Do the advantages of taking a gap year outweigh the disadvantages?

In a few countries, people think that it is more beneficial for young people to take a gap year before starting university, after finishing high school. While there are some advantages to taking a year off, like having time to relax or studying more, there are many disadvantages as well, such as lacking motivation or a change in acceptance rates. One of the major advantages of taking a gap year is allocating that time differently. For the most part, it can be used as time to relax. An example of this would be going on a vacation with friends, either traveling abroad or in the same country, learning a new skill or improving skills you already possess. Furthermore, that time could also be used in a more career driven way. While relaxing is important as it can avoid burnout and stress, applying to an internship or choosing to volunteer can help with the university application and even potentially finding a job. However, while there are many benefits, drawbacks also exist. One major downside is the higher chance for a lack of motivation. After not being in an academic setting, it might be difficult to think about the challenges of starting again, at a higher level of education. For instance, some people might not want to study anymore or maybe even found a job in that one year gap. Another disadvantage to consider is the change in the acceptance rate. Having a high chance of acceptance one year can drastically change for the next, depending on what the university board decides to change. In conclusion, while there are many advantages to taking a year off in between high school and university, there are plenty of disadvantages to take into account as well.