In many countries, people are choosing to have children later in life. Why is this happening? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, many people globally are choosing to have children later in life rather than earlier. There are many causes for this, such as financial reasons and child-free activities, and so, I strongly believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. A major reason for individuals opting for parenthood later in life is financial prosperity. Children are a substantial expense, so focusing on a career before becoming a parent can increase the livelihood of the family. For example, becoming a doctor takes years of preparation, therefore waiting for the completion of that step could provide a better life for the child. Furthermore, an added benefit to living extra years child-free is the ability to travel and engage in fun activities that aren't suitable for youngsters. Becoming a parent can heavily limit options for adventurous or out-going people. Traveling to exotic countries could endanger the children's lives because of the variety of animals and insects, while certain activities prevent children participating altogether. For instance, visiting a theme park full of roller-coasters is mostly an adult-oriented space. However, while there are many advantages to not having kids early, there are also drawbacks, one of the biggest one being the age difference. Having a significant age gap could lead to children experiencing the death of a parent much sooner than usual. Studies have shown that the ideal gap between children and their parents is between 25 - 30 years. To summarise, while there are many causes for individuals choosing to have offspring later in life, the advantages of this development far outweigh the disadvantages.