Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

This subject is one of the most important ones in terms of future development of the legal system of every jurisidiction and how we can deal with criminals and breaches of law. Not surprisingly, how offenders should be punished has been one of the most debated topics in the last century and it still continues to be of high relevance today. In my opinion, the courts must balance the benefits of putting someone behind the bars and letting them frem but imposing, however, a sanction such as unpaid community work. It is true that in some cases putting people behind bars can actually do more damage than good. There is no doubt that some people can be badly influenced by the environment and the interactions they have in a prison. For instance, if someone who drove a car over the speed limit is put in a cell with some other people who were convicted for some more serios offences such as rape or murder, can come out of prison a worse person than he was before. However such replacement of punishments shall be done with a lot of caution. We have to consider that by not putting in prison a criminal offender, there is a potential risk of him doing several other offences. Here comes the role of the courts and the judges that really must consider how dangerous that person is for the community he lives in. In conclusion, this topic raises an important question for every developed country and underlines the important role the judges and the legal system plays nowadays