In some countries, an increasing number of people are relying on private cars rather than public transport. Do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages?

There is no denying the fact that a tremendous number of individuals are relying on their own vehicles instead of public transit systems. While it is a commonly held belief that this approach has immense drawbacks, I firmly believe that the pros of relying on private cars far outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, the first primary benefit is schedule flexibility and not being restricted by the public schedule. In other words, a person who wants to move to another location does not have to wait for the bus or the train. Moreover, having one's private vehicle is much better due to the fact that it gives a person freedom to move faster and save their valuable time. For example, if an individual wants to go to his workplace, he does not have to search for the bus schedule because he has his own auto. On the other hand, the trend of relying on private vehicles does have several significant drawbacks such as helping to reduce the emit of carbon dioxide and pollution, which are harmful to the environment and people. To illustrate, modern public transit systems rely less on gas and more on electric systems. Furthermore, public transport might contribute to decreasing traffic on the roads and encourage the government to initiate improvements in their public transit system. For instance, Japan has the fastest train worldwide, known as the bullet train. In conclusion, although there are valid concerns regarding traffic or pollution, I strongly believe these are outweighed by the fact that private vehicles offer people many essential benefits, such as freedom, flexibility, and time saving