In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages of reading e-books outweigh its disadvantages? v.3

In recent years, the trend of reading e - books has increased. In opinion the disadvantages of this trend outweighs advantages because it causes poor eyesight and adversely effect book-store businesses. On one hand, reading e- books has several advantages. One of its merits is that it is environment friendly. Books are made of paper obtained from cutting trees, whereas e- books are available on digital screens. As a result, the use of technology discourages the process involved in making books and saves environment. Additionally, e- books are convenient for use. E- books are available on various applications on mobile phones and tablets. This vast availability reduces the burden of carrying heavy books while travelling or at work. Therefore, e- books can be more practical and easy to use. On the other hand, this trend can also have certain drawbacks.One of them is developing poor eyesight.If people read books on mobiles or tablets, they will be exposed to screens for longer duration. It has been scientifically proven that the radiations generated from such screens can have a negative impact on our eye power. Another disadvantage of this trend is an adverse effect on bookstore businesses. The rising shift towards e- books will cause an excessive reduction in paper book sales. As a result of this decline, the local bookstores might eventually close their businesses due to less profits. In conclusion, in my opinion disadvantages of e- books such as development of weak eyesight and negative impact on bookstores outweighs its advantages of being environment friendly and convenient in use.