Some people say that public libraries should be free, otherwise they are just a waste of money, especially because modern technologies and the internet allow easy access to resources. Discuss and give your point of view.

There seems to be an ongoing debate regarding which state-funded libraries ought to remain cost-free, even though current technological advances and online platforms already offer straightforward ways of obtaining knowledge. Presumably, charging library users might create a financial burden on disadvantaged students who cannot afford digital devices and connections, and narrow fair opportunities for the public to reach information no matter whether there is an opportunity to acquire a vast amount of sources through internet in this technological era. Now, I will mull it over in order to lay my cards on the table. First and foremost, some individuals advocate that a certain charge has to be imposed in community libraries in order to avoid wasting taxpayers’ money. Albeit, equal educational availability significantly contributes to development of society and is more crucial than a relatively small portion of the government budget. In particular, children from low-income families with unsuitable home environments for studying depend on free libraries to pursue learning. To cite Japan as an example, the country has reported higher levels of literacy and social equality compared to countries where library services are limited by fees. If saving public funds had been considered as more significant than educational equalization, such a developed nation as Japan would not have approved to free-access libraries. When it comes to enunciating my second standpoint, much of the information on the internet lacks reliability, since everyone can easily spread false content and even deceive users. Aside from that, libraries contain valuable data sources which are trustworthy and historically proven, including the masterpieces of ancient scientists and published articles which are often expensive to get online. According to a recent survey conducted in ECA college in Australia, more than 70% of assignments completed by students who relied solely on internet resources were of lower quality and received poorer grades than those of students who used library materials. Thus, government libraries are essential to the development of an educated society, as they are freely available despite the convenience of modern digital tools. Taking everything above into consideration, I would evidently concur that it is mandatory for government funded libraries to remain equally available to individuals from all kinds of backgrounds, since they play a vital role in creating a knowledgeable and equal society. At the same time, precious discoveries, arts, and scientific works are preserved in these institutions whereas in online platforms of this technological era, a large amount of unreliable information and contents is frequently spread.