Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to advanced technology, online shopping becomes easier and accessible for everyone. In this essay, I will discuss the huge advantages of making purchases online as well as the minor drawbacks we need to be mindful of to avoid harmful effects of cyber security. If I have to choose a significant advantage of online shopping, it would be convenience. The fact that there are many brands and stores have been changing their way of operating, having their own websites or selling products on e-commerce platforms. This allows customers to buy necessary products from home, making purchases after a few minutes with flexible payment methods, and saving time doing other things while waiting for the order delivery to the door. Another benefit that I really enjoy of shopping online, is the cross-platform promotions and discounts between the selling channels and payment tools. For example, Kingfood, the grocery store near my house, has exclusive deals for online orders paid by VNPay, an emerging fintech application in Vietnam, which sometimes helped me save up to one hundred thousands Vietnam dong. Despite the obvious advantages, buying things on the internet may also cause problems to consumers, especially to the extent of cybersecurity. Nowadays, it is not difficult to find the news about hackers attacking financial systems and stealing money from personal accounts. By giving our personal information such as contact points and payment details, we may also face the same problems, and therefore, it is essentially important to remember that we should never save such sensitive information on any websites and platforms. In conclusion, it cannot be denied that online shopping is an emerging trend and convenient for us to many extents. However, to protect ourselves from the harmful drawbacks of fraud, we should be more cautious when purchasing things on the internet and keep the personal information confidential where possible.