Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is more useful for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people would say that television is beneficial for studying, while others argue that the main purpose of that is only for entertainment. Although television provides many educational and current affair programs to increase knowledge, people use it to watch more for entertainment programs and consider as fun activity. On the one side, many parents encourage their children to see educational programs for enhancing knowledge of various aspects. There are dedicated educational channels who only run programs having full of information for their curious audience. Therefore, those people devote their major television screen time into these programs to gain more educational information. Moreover, Television can also be utilised to be aware about current affairs. Tv viewers are also interested to watch News and debate programs, which increase individuals’ intellect. As a result, instead of spendning additional time in studying, they can increase their knowledge level by watching televesion. For example, Discovery channel and History Tv are the popular channels for educational contents among curious school students. On the other side, most people use TV for mainly for entertainment such as watching films or listening music. Viewers have numerous options for movies and music channels to choose if they get boared on one program. Furthermore, family can plan to watch famous sports match or family fun shows in which all family members are interested. Due to this habit, everyone enjoy family time with each other and make their strong bonding. For instance, in India, every family member watch final ICC cricket match togather at home. I believe that television can be used for both education and entertainment. It totally depends on individuals interest and what their parent encourage to watch for. In conclusion, many viewers watch television to learn something new, while others look for enjoyment. I believe that one can be directed to use TV either to learn or fun by their parents.