In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

The number of professional athletes using banned substances to elevate their performances has increased significantly in recent years. Scientific breakthroughs in the field of medicine, and the growing competitiveness in all sports are major reasons for the rise. The sporting industry is one of the fastest growing fields in the world, and the changes it has undergone in the past few decades is clear to see. As a result of this, the competitors are stronger and sharper than ever before. This makes it much more difficult to maintain consistency at the highest level. To combat this, sportsmen and women may be tempted to use performance enhancing drugs to gain an edge over their competition. Technological advancements in the past few years have also made these substances more readily available than ever before. These medications not only boost your performance on the field, but also significantly improve your recovery. The individuals found guilty of using such enhancements need to have severe punishments imposed on them. This can be implemented in many forms. Medals that have been won unfairly need to be taken away. Their participation in future competitions also needs to be reduced, or removed completely, depending on the severity of their offense. The availability of such drugs should also be regulated and be observed more carefully. New awards can also be introduced, to reward those who abide by the rules, and to encourage others to do the same. Educating the athletes on the potential drawbacks of using such substances could also have a significant impact. In conclusion, it is evident that there are multiple reasons as to why more and more athletes are using banned substances. Stricter rules and raising awareness on the harmful effects is the way to stop these incidents from occurring again.