In many societies, unpaid work such as volunteering or internships is becoming increasingly common. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of unpaid work.

Nowadays, free internship and volunteer strategy is commonly used worldwide. In many countries, it becomes mutual acceptance within undergraduate students. However, there are some opposing ideas against neutralizing free internships and volunteering. In this essay, I will demonstrate pros and cons of unpaid work. First and foremost, the free internship matches companies with passionate candidates who are interested in the job. It is an opportunity where students can stimulate real work experiences under company regulations and job reality. In most companies, they will assign a supervisor to guide and take care of an intern during an internship period. It encourages them to work at best with less expectation, less responsible, and sufficient support from the team. Even universities address first-handed working experiences in the curriculum, this highlights how internship opportunities are necessary for students. Similarly, volunteering has its greatest benefits to develop greater mentality and morality through meaningful works. It is a chance to explore both self and society through the connections between people and nature. On the other hand, these opportunities could backfire the society in the long-run. To begin with, free internships put interns under heavy invisible costs for instance, transportations, lunch and many more during the internship duration. If the companies are not aware or intentionally ignored in order to continue using free labour, internship opportunities will turn out to be an opportunity to exploit undergraduate students. Also, mentioned invisible costs are equally affected in unpaid volunteer work as well. Only people with wealth who are genuinely interested in volunteering could afford joining an activity. Without fair incentives, people will join volunteering less leading to lessen of the workforce and heavier workload for individuals. Bad experiences of participants affects reputation and further collaborations. In conclusion, unpaid work can be highly beneficial or the reverse to the participants. It is important not to overly use free labour within both organizational and volunteering projects. The government should provide appropriate regulations towards restricted working hours and subsidize necessary costs during the operations.