Mobile phones and the Internet could have many benefits for old people. However, this age group uses technology the least. What are the benefits for old people of using mobile phones and the Internet? How can we encourage them to use this new

The predicament of the elderly in social skills has gradually emerged as the ageing degree of society deepens. This issue, according to research conducted by Peking Normal University, is partly due to the so-called "social contact vacuum", which refers to confining one's daily contact to family members or relatives and hence becoming progressively isolated, and this phenomenon is usually observed in the elderly who have retired. However, if they can fully utilise mobile phones and the Internet, their social sphere can be significantly extended, not only to their relatives but also to people sharing hobbies or feelings. When accompanied by individuals with whom the elderly have sharing impulses, they can get rid of the haunting loneliness that often exists in an ageing society. However, precisely as Max's inscription says, what is more important than what is right is how to do it. Since it is beneficial for old people to use mobile phones, the government should take practical and effective measures to actualise this concept. One plausible approach is to support the establishment of NGOs, which have been validated effective by Western countries as a useful helper in popularising electronic devices among the elderly. A compelling example is seen in Canada, where an NGO called "Be Your Eyes" is committed to teaching old people suffering from cataracts how to use the reading mode built into smartphones, which has significantly facilitated these old patients in electronic payment and building social interactions. In summary, the popularity of mobile phones and the Internet contribute to mitigating the elderly's loneliness. But to achieve this desirable effect, the government might need to trust specific actions to NGOs, which are demonstrated helpers in this field.