Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In an era of globalisation museums and art galleries play a crucial role in preserving human creativity and identity. So some people believe that they have to include only their own national exhibits, while others prefer international institutions more. I largely disagree with the idea of focusing only on local works, as a balanced approach brings greater educational and cultural value. On the one hand, prioritising only national arts and historical artefacts helps to strengthen cultural identity, as it allows citizens especially younger generations to trace their roots. This can foster a sense of belonging and pride which is important in todays developing era where unique cultural identities may gradually fade. Moreover, domestic exhibitions resonate mostly with local visitors, making them more meaningful and emotionally intriguing. On the other hand, despite some benefits I still side with the people who disagree with this idea. Since limiting collections to national works would significantly decline the potential of museums. Art and history are not isolated instead they are interconnected across the borders. By combining local and international works, giving the chance to tourists to compare cultures and finding similarities and differences. Furthermore, it is worth considering that international museums can act as bridges to other cultures, allowing people to experience traditions and ideas that they might never encounter otherwise. In conclusion, while museums should certainly preserve and celebrate their own cultural heritage, restricting them to national works would be a missed opportunity. A combination of local and international exhibits offers a huge number of benefits such as richer and more comprehensive experience.