Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people think we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern ones, while others think we should preserve the ancient history these buildings hold. As much as I think old buildings remind us of the beautiful past a place once had, I think building new architecture in cities will bring greater civilisation and long-term financial sustainability. It is true that old buildings hold a lot of historical value that mark our ancestors' stories in the past, however, it is very costly to keep maintaining them. Houses built in the old days were made mainly of timber and clay, which are likely to deteriorate over time. Not only that, pipes within the building might get rusty and mouldy which eventually will become a hygienic issue and safety hazard. It costs a great amount of money to maintain such houses, and it would be more cost-effective to replace them with new houses instead. Moreover, people may not want to live in old houses, and thereby, leaving the empty houses only as a display on the road. In contrast, developing the cities with new architectures can bring more civilisation. With how the technologies have rapidly developed nowadays, our lives are getting more comfortable and convenient. From the materials used to build buildings, to the AI robot in the house that helps support households maintance, we simply cannot live without technology. Having more modern buildings can attract more people to live there, and create a community that brings people closer. To conclude, ancient buildings hold beautiful historical value, yet it is important for people to embrace the technology we have developed today and move forward with modern buildings.