Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people claim that competing with each other in different areas of life, such as at work, school, and daily life, is beneficial for personal development, whereas others contend that collaboration should be tried to be more effective in life. From my perspective, individuals should find common ground and be open to cooperation to find more effective solutions, and people can feel stressed and depressed in a competitive environment. Proponents of the idea that being competitive is an advantage for society suggest that this development can enhance people's abilities and skills by making students or workers put more effort into their jobs and studies. They believe this because individuals have a tendency to push their limits in order to pass their coworkers or classmates. A study in a big company, Vestel, showed that white-collar workers functioned better when they were obligated to work alone and had to pass their teammates for a salary increase, and their tasks were delegated, so everyone did their part in this study. As a result, their efficiency was greater, increasing by almost 10%. Hence, it can be inferred that competition can be used to raise workers or students efficiency. However, working constantly in a competitive workplace or a classroom can lead to both physical and mental health problems because individuals tend to put a lot of pressure on themselves to meet endless deadlines or finish their homework to be successful. This, in turn, may cause stress-related illnesses such as depression and anxiety. Moreover, competition might seem like an efficient method to create an effective working area, but it has only a positive impact on people's working habits in the short-term. Collaboration, on the other hand, has a lot of benefits for society and people's mental well-being. The most prominent advantage of this is that workers and learners can find more viable solutions when they are asked to work together by using various techniques, such as brainstorming and teamwork. For example, in a student group, all children can argue their own ideas to find a better solution, and they can see the big picture when they work together. Consequently, they can learn that there are numerous ideas in the world, broadening their horizons. In conclusion, although I acknowledge that there are some counter-arguments suggesting that competition plays a crucial role in the development of individuals and can increase efficiency in the short-term, I remain convinced that cooperation is a more viable technique, as being competitive can cause serious diseases such as depression. Additionally, collaboration can positively affect thinking processes and problems can be more easily addressed.