Some people suggest that sport helps people learn about teamwork, but others say it can encourage them to be too competitive. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

It is widely debated whether sport has made people more collaborative or more competitive. While some people argue that sport benefits teamwork, others believe that sport influences competitive behaviour; however, this essay will discuss both perspectives before concluding that the positive impact outweighs the drawbacks. First and foremost, those who believe that sport teaches people to play as a team argue that success in sport requires coordinated effort from every player, not just individuals. This is because players have to learn to be responsible in their task, trust their teammates, and hold accountability. For example, in football, there are various required positions such as goal keeper, defender and striker. Every role supports each other and heavily relies on trust of the team members. As a result, it is understandable why many people believe in the influence of playing sports on teamwork. On the other hand, others contend that sport can overly trigger a sense of competition because every sport plays to win. This pressure can lead to shape mindset and behaviour outside the field, particularly for teenagers. The issue isn’t competition itself but excessive or unhealthy competition. For instance, students will learn to compete with invisible opponents or even themselves in order to achieve in everything. Nevertheless, I personally believe that the advantages of sport outweigh its downsides because there are many factors other than sport that can lead individuals to be too competitive such as environment and nurturing. In conclusion, while some people state that sport offers great teamwork, concerns about excessive competitive attitude are also valid. Overall, I believe that sport has a great positive reinforcement to teach about teamwork more than teach them to be competitive.