Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The unemployment crisis across various countries shows alarming trends. Fortunately, many countries provide government benefits to the unemployed, particularly those who have been in such an unfortunate situation for a long period of time. This essay will discuss why job seekers who have been unemployed for a significant period perform voluntary work instead of receiving government benefits, as a means to contribute to society. Firstly, the unemployed population may view such benefits as a means to be lazy. Unemployment over a substantial period might demotivate an individual, and these benefits might be considered as a shortcut to personal financial growth, as they might not have to make an effort to find a job or build a career. For example, if a government promises its residents financial and non-financial benefits, people might not make an effort to work or conduct business. Such a measure might lead to business losses and might unintentionally encourage the residents to commit crimes. On the contrary, if unemployed individuals volunteered until they found a job, they would positively contribute to the community. Volunteering is one of the best ways to improve skills, network with like-minded folks, and give back to the community. For instance, volunteering at hospitals or community centres could help patients and children while one makes an active effort to improve one's abilities. This could also be considered a route to employment, as it's a fabulous opportunity to work alongside high-level executives who take part in such activities, while showing your skills and personality in practice. Hence, I believe volunteering is a great way to give back to the people. To summarise, the unemployed may take unfair advantage of governmental benefits if they have been struggling to find a job for a long period. I would recommend they perform volunteer work instead, as this would allow the society to benefit from their knowledge, skills, and talent.