In some countries, many students are choosing to study online from home instead of attending classes in person at a university or college.Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In different countries, a variety of learners are willing to study online instead of attending classes at a traditional school. While the flexibility of online classes is very helpful for busy adults, I am convinced that learning at a college or university is more beneficial for undergraduates. To begin with, online lessons are more flexible and budget-friendly. For example, students are able to select their own time to attend classes, which provides more time to cultivate their hobbies. Furthermore, it offers more benefits to learners who need to balance work or family responsibilities. Besides that, the cost of online education is much cheaper than that of traditional schools. As a result, tuition fees can be more affordable for those working while studying. This shows that having more flexibility and lower educational fees provides opportunities for students who are time-constrained or underprivileged. On the other hand, students studying online may find it hard to blend into the community. In many countries, such as the US, Canada, and Japan, schools often encourage group projects and presentations. This is because working in a group can strengthen undergraduates' interpersonal skills and team spirit. In addition, pupils might find it difficult to develop 'soft skills' such as public speaking, emotional regulation, or teamwork. As a result, students may feel isolated or uncomfortable when working in a corporate environment, primarily because they are not well-trained to express their feelings. In conclusion, while online lessons offer merits in terms of flexibility and low tuition fees, the loss of interpersonal skills or public communication is more significant for learners. When balancing students ' academic results and emotional expression, I believe that the convenience of digital tools cannot outweigh the importance of education from traditional universities or colleges.