Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Health service is of utmost importance for all countries. It is for this reason I believe that health services must be provided to the people of all nations at zero cost, regardless of the availability of high-priced latest medical treatments. Firstly, many less-developed countries and some developing countries do not have access to basic health amenities by their government. This might either be due to lack of infrastructure or because of their remote location. Access to medical services at no would allow many people to have access to low priced basic medical amenities such as general health or dental check-ups, if not for expensive recent medical treatments such as HIV and cancer treatments. I think is the bare minimum that the government of these countries could do for their residents, who are promised benefits and infrastructure in exchange for taxes. The existence of corruption is another reason. People across the world pay huge amounts of taxes to their respective governments. However, greedy politicians make use of the hard-earned money of the common man for their own benefits instead of providing basic facilities such as hospitals, roads and schools. Providing health services at no cost would be a small but impactful step forward towards reducing corruption. Such a measure would force the government to reallocate its human and financial resources to provide medical amenities for free. To summarise, free medical services might not provide access to latest medical treatments that are costly, but it would provide residents of every country the access to the basic medical amenities while acting as a subtle action to fight corruption. It for these reasons I believe that every individual across the world deserves free access to medical services.