All cars that burn fossil fuel should be banned and electric cars should replace them. Do you agree or disagree?

Fossil fuel cars emit carbon waste and are one of the largest known causes contributing to the global warming crisis. However, I do not agree that a shift towards electric cars is a good alternative for this problem. Electric cars do not make for a suitable replacement of fossil fuel cars as the destruction of their old batteries isn’t environmentally friendly. Electric cars run on hydrogen batteries which have a relatively short lifespan and consequently must be continuously replaced. The burning of these old batteries emits huge quantities of fumes into the atmosphere and therefore does not help combat global warming. Although some would argue that electric cars are a more attractive option as these use energy from wind or sun sources as opposed to fossil fuels which are slowly coming to an end. However, it is questionable if there are currently enough energy generators, such as wind turbines or solar panels, to support a full transition into sustainable cars. To conclude, I disagree that a switch from petrol/diesel cars into sustainable energy-based machines is a strategic plan as although fossil fuel cars are pernicious to the environment, electric cars batteries make these cars not a viable solution to this problem.