People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

It is argued individual should follow the customs and traditions when they start to live in a new country. Many citizens hold this opinion, and I completely agree with it. Examining the former opinion, the primary argument supporters would put forward is that local people will accept newcomers easily, it is an efficient way to make friends in new accommodation. This is because local people will become welcoming when they feel newcomers are showing respect for the local way of life. In addition, proponents also believe that immigrants will enjoy the tradition and be able to take part in community life. For example, visitors have participated in the Songkran festival with their enthusiasm. On the contrary, those in favour of the latter opinion have their own arguments. To begin with, they claim that it is difficult for new residents who do not follow the customs and traditions of the host country. For instance, an entrepreneur who comes to live in a new city and start up a business must be aware of the culture and identity. Furthermore, recent immigrants might violate the laws if they do not respect the behaviour and customs of the local. To illustrate, residents will consider newcomers dirty when they litter the street or spit gum in public places in Singapore. To conclude and offer my perspective, there are convincing arguments both for and against. I think we should research and explore our travel country in advance, which helps us integrate with the native citizens in their area.