As technology develops, more shopping and business is done through the internet while communication face to face becomes less frequent. Is this a positive or a negative development?

As technology advances, the number of people shopping and doing business online is increasing while communication in person is becoming less frequent. In my opinion the situation bring both positive and negative aspects. Starting with the positive ones: considering that internet is spreaded world wide and most people have access to internet, buying online has become easier than in person, because you can order whatever you want in a few seconds, while if you had to go and buy in a physical store, that would require more time and commuting. Another positive aspect from a customer perspective is that the large diversification of businesses on the internet also increases the range of options available and makes prices more competitive. Owners of online business also benefit from managing a shop without a physical structure. With a lean operation, costs reduce and profits go up. On the other hand, one of the negative aspects of this change is that local business are in risk of disapear. When a business finishs its activities, less jobs are created, which leads to an unemployment consequence from technology advcance. From a customer point of view, other negative effects from buying on the internet instead of communicating face to face is the difficulty in getting in contact with an atual human attendent and having their issues resolved. This is one of the biggest complaints in online forums and shows the fragility of a service that lacks social interaction. Still on the interaction note, many customers reported to receive different products than the ones bought online, which means that the lack of face to face communication can also lead to disappoiment. In conclusion, I think technology development is already happening and either we want it or not, we will have to adapt to this reality even more and more. Therefore, there's also a powerful movement that can be done within society in order to support local business and help to balance the situtation.