In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks.

In recent years, the installation of public cameras has increased to aim to reduce the criminal rate in many cities. However, some people are worried that individual freedom is limited. In my view, I believe that the increasing security in public places are more beneficial than drawbacks. Camera surveillance plays an extremely important role in detecting criminals in a local area. With surveillance via video, local authorities can find and capture offenders to keep safety for a residential community. For example, CCTV is installed on many roads and highways to avoid overspeeding and overcrossing in the red light signals, it significantly reduces transport accidents as well as death rates and cuts down stress for hospitals because of car accidents. Tracking and finding missing persons and objects in public places helps police investigate potential risks in society based on videos supplied via CCTV. For example, if someone loses an item such as a passport, phone or wallet, they can report it to the police station and they track the moving routes of visitors and find the lost items easily in Japan. Additionally, crimes are targeted at young children who are easily kidnapping and selling to other nations. Consequently, police can track information and trace the criminal activities to rescue the children of the criminal line and get back to their families safely. Although CCTV may limit personal freedom, it helps authorities prevent the community and society from criminal attacks. Ensuring road safety and residential areas are high reasons security must over the drawbacks.