Some people say in order to prevent illness and disease, government should focus on reducing environment pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this heavily industrialized era, the environment has often been sacrificed to achieve remarkable economic development, leading to many modern issues, such as a shortage of housing and heavily contaminated natural areas, which negatively impact our public health and well-being. Some people say the best solution is to maintain a specific level of cleanliness in our living environment. This essay strongly agrees that prioritizing environmental pollution reduction and providing an adequate number of shelters can prevent illness and disease. Most importantly, harmful germs can cause undesired effects, which often thrive specifically in polluted ponds, soils and dumping canals, while many pollutants, which can be easily found in these areas, are proven to weaken our body’s immune system. Together, they create not only a threat to our health but also make us more prone to getting sick. Moreover, dense and overpopulated areas create many chances for diseases to spread rapidly, creating a sudden outbreak that covers most of the population. On the other hand, the homeless are more likely to have direct contact with many sources of illness, for example, rats, cockroaches, wild animals and even flu from the birds. Last but not least, we also have to consider other factors that have many influences on our health as well. A balanced and varied food selection is arguably one of the most essential choices that affect our lives, and regular exercise is also undeniably crucial to a healthy and worthy life. Overall, while living space and our surroundings significantly contribute to the public's physical well-being; dietary and other factors should be considered thoroughly.