Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences arethe key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

People hold different views about whether charging substantial penalties is an effective way to reduce traffic accidents or not. Personally, I support that strict punishments avert driving offenders and this essay demonstrates firstly that adding a prison sentence or revoking a license to the list of punishments helps to improve safety on roads followed by an analysis of other suggested actions, is not valid. The main reason to attach importance to sentences is that increase the responsibility whenever everyone thinks it is a minor offence and can easily be dealt with its punishment. That is to say, people create peril for both their lives and other drivers' lives on roads by drunk driving or speeding. Recent investigations reveal that traffic accidents claim over one million lives annually. Drinking drivers and overlooking rules intentionally play the main role in these accidents as well. Consequently, if people knew that they could not avoid accountability not only by paying a minor financial penalty but also through more severe punishments like imprisonment or license revocation, they would take the rules seriously instead of risking costly loss of life on the roads. Those opposed to this say that key actions are periodical education and training about traffic accidents' results and how to make roads safer. In addition, governments need to promote escaping from private cars in an attempt to reduce traffic congestion and the number of novice drivers by improving public transport service and offering more favourable alternatives. However, these suggestions seem like a solution for risky roads, accidents are mostly caused by irresponsibility, not ignorance, and on the other hand, all this is scanty to deter people from owning a private car. In conclusion, though it is thought that other measures are more effective in decreasing traffic accidents, according to the illumination above, I believe there is a key point in applying heavy penalties that people act within the law and as a result can reach safe roads.