In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What si your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

There has been a visible trend of increased consumption of crime literature and television in contemperory times in different countries. In my opinion this specific genre renders its popularity to a variety of reasons including, but not limited to, excessive use of social media, rise in ADHD among youth and sheep mindset among teenagers. This essay will further delve into these different causes. I personally find this genre overrated particularly a waste of potentional in literature. In modern times the world has become a global village with social media bringing us all together. This shift in global order in 21st century has led to the trend setting tradition which is followed by most if not all countries using apps such as instagram, youtube, twitter etc. This means that teenager sitting in USA reading "The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde" can simply upload an aesthetic story on her account, gaining views from all over the world including India, China, Korea etc. The interest of an American girl will influence the choices of an Asian teengar who will feel compelled to buy a similar literary piece in order to fit in among her peers. Crime and thriller have always been of keen interest among Western population but due to connecting of east and west through mobile screens, these choices of a specific region gain popularity worldwide. Similarly, many researchers believe that introduction of screens and free usage of media among children leads to higher probability of ADHD and autism among them. The former illness cause a deficiency of concentration hence people from this group prefers media and literature that doesn't require heightened focus. Reading crime novels or watching such shows provide them adrenaline rush without feeling the need to follow the story closely. Such population can feel this rush as most crime shows contains fast paced scenes, lack of dialogues, more action themed scenes and plot driven stories. This is the reason crime films and documentaries are more popular among teenagers who crave for danger and excitement. I find these films and novels to lack substance. Their lack of focus on characters make them appear dull and can only attract momentary attention. Rather than such useless media sources, I believe the youngsters should be encouraged to explore historical or healthier sources of media. This prevailing trend of normalising gore, violence, bad language and crimes can lead to long lasting impacts on our younger generations which is why countries with a higher rate of such media should introduce some form of regulatory measures limiting consumption of this unhealthy genre.