Some people think that access to clean water is a basic human right and should be free for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people believe that access to clean water is a basic human right and that water should be provided for free. However, I disagree with this idea for several reasons. First of all, it is true that clean water is essential for people ’s lives. However, people usually need to work and pay for their basic needs, such as food, electricity, and housing. Water should not be completely different from these necessities. In addition, it is unclear who would pay the cost of providing free water. If governments covered all costs, taxes would probably increase. If private companies supplied water for free, they would not make enough profit. On the other hand, I agree that poor people who cannot afford water should receive support from governments or local organizations. Another problem is that water consumption varies from person to person. Because of this, it would be difficult to decide how much free water should be provided. Furthermore, if people could use unlimited free water, some of them might stop valuing it and waste too much water. As a result, water shortages could become more serious in some areas. For example, in some developing countries, children cannot attend school because they need to collect water for their families. In conclusion, although access to clean water is extremely important, I do not believe it should be completely free for everyone. This is because people should normally pay for their own necessities, and controlling water consumption would be difficult.