Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that companies and sellers should be responsible for the reduction of packaging material used for products, while others believe consumers should not buy items that have unnecessary packaging, In my opinion, it is a shared responsibility for all of us to take care of our planet. This essay will discuss both views before presenting my own view. On the one hand, if companies pay attention to the environmental challenges we face due to excessive packaging, they can reduce the levels of pollution. By adopting recycling policies, manufacturers can remove traditional polythene packaging with environmentally friendly material, which reduces pollution. For instance, in many European countries, 70% of packaging material used for product packaging is free from plastic, which promotes recycling. As a result, the level of pollution in these countries is considerably lower because of conscious efforts for the environment from the governments and companies. On the other hand, although manufacturers are responsible for packaging, it is the people who can avoid buying items that contain a lot of packaging and are not environmentally friendly. If individuals prioritise to purchase products with minimal or without packaging, manufacturers will reduce packaging automatically. For example, in order to fulfil customer demand, Amazon has avoided 4.2 million metric tons of packaging since 2015 by using AI to select lighter and smaller envelopes instead of boxes. Therefore, by making conscious choices while purchasing items with minimal packaging, we can contribute to reducing pollution. Additionally, I believe it should be a combined effort to reduce packaging by consumers and manufacturers in order to save the environment. In conclusion, while some people think suppliers should be responsible for the reduction of packaging, others believe it's people who use the products who should demand products without packaging. I contend that both companies and consumers should make efforts to minimise packaging.