Some people think that technology has made people's lives easier, while others believe it has made life more complicated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate as to whether technology has improved living standards. While some citizens claim that electronic devices have ameliorated people’s lives, others believe that technological advancements have made life increasingly complicated. This essay will examine both perspectives and ultimately argue in favour of the former. On the one hand, those who believe that drawbacks outweigh the benefits argue that teens spend an excessive amount of time using screens on social media, diverting their attention from subjects at school. Furthermore, the overuse of computers can lead to social isolation and, eventually, mental health issues such as anxiety disorders and depression. Many people find themselves scrolling on Instagram on their cellphones when they suddenly realise that forty minutes have passed. Compelling though these arguments may be, they fail to consider the long-term benefits that technological advancements have meant to society as a whole, all of which will be described in the next paragraph. On the other hand, proponents of the opposing view argue that greater attention should be paid to the impact technology has had on different phases of human life. Moreover, students from every level of education can access new material to better comprehend subjects, let alone medical students who are able to watch a video on YouTube so they can understand how the body works. Additionally, elderly citizens are able to collect their pensions and to pay bills online without having to go out in winter. More tellingly, as elderly people often struggle to travel from one place to another, electronic devices bridge geographical barriers since they can talk to relatives while staying at home. Not to mention the impact on healthcare, where automation has revolutionised treatments and helped develop cures for previously incurable diseases. In conclusion, while the impact of applied science on everybody’s life remains a matter of debate, it is clear that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. The improvement of study materials, the possibility for aged people to be in contact with their relatives immediately wherever they are, and the progress in medical research are sufficient reasons to consider it to be one of the major drivers of development.