Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?”

Firstly, the first vehicle emerged on UK streets in 1888. There were around 29 million cars on British roads. Some people argue that alternative forms of transport should be promoted, and the government should introduce some international laws should be conducted to car ownership and use. In my opinion, I agree with this view because the growing use of cars has caused serious environmental and social problems. One reason why alternative forms of transport should be encouraged is the damage cars are causing to the environment. Private cars produce huge amounts of carbon dioxide into the air which adds more air pollution and global warming. Instead of that we can use alternative forms of transport to reduce that problem. Moreover, government should invest more in public transport which as, metros, buses and electric cars that may solve this issue. Another major problem of excessive car ownership is traffic jams. In most big cities, roads are over crowded, especially during rush hours, causing stress for commuters. These not only waste time but also reduces quality of the work. For example, many students and workers wake up one to two hours earlier than needed just to catch school or work on time. If the government promotes cycling as morning activity, the city will become less crowded and more environmental friendly. To conclude, huge dependence on private cars effected the environment and society so I highly agree that we must use alternative means of transportation.