In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message.

It is becoming incredibly common for offspring to be persuaded that everything is achievable if they try hard enough. Despite providing advantages such as increased motivation and developing positive attitude towards challenges, this may also give a rise to issues regarding mental health and create illusion. One of the primary benefits associated with children believing in their ability to accomplish any goals is a growth of motivation. In addition, it is being widely acknowledged that motivation is the main driver of success. When mentioning offspring, this becomes extremely relevant as they do not yet posses enough self-discipline to persue their dreams. For instance, a research in the UK indicates that motivated individuals more often reach their personal aims. Moreover, this ultimately results in increased confidence among younger individuals. An additional advantage worth mentioning is the affirmative attitude towards solving problems. This stems directly from preconception associated with everything being achievable and might later result in better problem-solving ability by increasing confidence while preventing thoughts of plausible failures. Despite these benefits, certain disadvantages like depiction of illusions should also be considered. To begin with, telling children this lies might often lead to distorting view of their real abilities. Consequently, this might give a rise to dissatisfaction and frustration which could later lead to a depression. This is the point from which another disadvantage stems. Stress, depression, anxiety are all attributable to the illusions created by parents. Admittedly, these may lead to some detrimental consequences when the adolescence begins. For instance, teenagers who were taught this during earlier years of their life have higher rates of depression and less self-satisfaction. To conclude, the issue regarding children's believe in their ability to accomplish any goal is increadibly controversial. Both benefits and drawbacks should be carefully considered. Whereas this brings increase in motivation and better problem-solving abilities, another possible results are mental diseases and illusions.