It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

The increasing crime rate has posed a threat to the general living standard. As a result, some people claim that it is necessary to use punishments to teach children about the difference between right and wrong. As far as I am concerned, I agree with this view to a large extent. Punishment without body contact or verbal abuse should be allowed for parents and teachers when they are teaching. To begin with, the deterrent effect may raise children’s awareness about what is right and what is not. As the cognitive development of young people is immature, they may not understand the undesirable outcome of their bad behaviours. In this way, students may be required to bear the consequences if punishments are applied. For example, a black mark demerit will be given to those who bully others in school. Since it is inevitable to have negative outcomes, good behaviour may be learned by children in order to avoid punishments Besides, asking children to read the moral behaviours may be a proper punishment. As certain teenagers may feel reluctant to follow their parents’ or teachers’ words, reading may embed those good behaviours in their minds. For example, students may understand the drawback of stealing. Therefore, they may be encouraged to do the right thing in their future. In conclusion, punishments can encourage teenagers to have a better understanding of the difference between right and wrong, which can prevent them from making wrong decisions. Meanwhile, reading the moral behaviour may be an efficient solution to tackle the problem.