In some countries the government promotes public transport as the primary means of transportation, and discourages private vehicle ownership. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

The public transportation has become a subject of growing discussion. Although there are certain benefits of private vehical ownership, I firmly believe that the disadvantages significantly outweigh the advantages of utlilising public transport. It must be acknowledged that private transporation including - car and bikes does present some advantages such as comfort during travelling for work. The main concern is that it contributes in increase of global warming. In addition to that, it affects economy of some countries as well. For instance, recently the prime minister of India has urged everyone to not to use car so that country can control the gas prices. Although comfort during travel is a valid consideration, it is relatively minor when viewed in broder context. On the other hand, the benefits of using public transportaion are far more substantial. First and foremost, it saves the enviornment as less vehical will be on road and pollution produced from it will decrease everyday. For example, recently Japan has made public transport mandatory for everyone and as a result they saw 20% reduction in air pollution. Additionally, government can save economy by controlling gas prices across country. Take together, these points clearly demonstrate that promoting public transport is a predominantly positive develomment. In conclusion, while convenience of having own vehical is valid factor, I am convinced that advantages of using public transport, particularly reduction in air pollution and saving country from economy crisis, far outweigh the disadvantages.